2020 National Speed Championship Mt Maunganui

 Registration is closed for this event
Climbing New Zealand Speed Climbing National Championship 2020, March 7th


This competition will be held at: Blake Park 40 Kawaka Street, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116 and hosted by Bay of Plenty Sport Climbing Association.

This competition is open to all climbers who are members of Clubs affiliated to Climbing New Zealand, in all age groups from Under 12 to Open and Masters. See https://www.climbing.nz/regional-clubs/ for contact information for affiliated Clubs 

Masters – born before March 7th 1985

Opens   –  born before March 7th 2004

Juniors – born during 2001/2002

Youth A – born during 2003/2004

Youth B – born 2005/2006

Youth C – born 2007/2008

Youth D – born 2009 (or later)


 Entry fee for this competition is $20 and there is no Early Bird entry fee  
Registrations close midnight 5th March 2020.  Late registrations and those taken on competition day will incur an additional $20 late fee.


This competition is run according to International Federation of Sport Climbing rules https://www.ifsc-climbing.org/index.php/world-competition/rules and consists of one Qualifying round followed by a Final round with a quota based on the number of competitors posting a valid qualifying time. The Final round will consist of a series of stages each consisting of a number of "elimination" races, the winner of a race in any stage proceeding forward to the next stage. The number of stages and races in each stage will be determined by the quota for the Final round. 

Timetable (please note this timetable is subject to change depending on entry numbers and will be updated on the event page for this event):


Saturday 7th March 



7.50am Technical meeting - athletes and team managers

8.30am Youth C and D Warm up and Practice

9.30am Youth C and D Qualification 

10am Youth C and D Final

11 prize giving and warm-up for others

Route reset for remaining categories

12.30pm PractiseYouth B/A/Junior/Masters

1.30pm Qualification YB/YA/Junior/Masters

2.30pm Final YB/YA/Junior/Masters

3.00pm Warm-up Opens

4.00pm Practise 

5.00pm Qualifications Opens

6.30pm Finals

7.00pm Prize Giving






March 7th, 2020 7:30 AM   through   7:30 PM
Blake Park
40 Kawaka St
Mt Maunganui
Tauranga, 3116
New Zealand
Event Fee(s)
Event Fee(s)
Female Open Speed [FOS] $ 20.00
Male Open Speed [MOS] $ 20.00
Male Masters Speed [MMS] $ 20.00
Female Masters Speed [FMS] $ 20.00
Male Junior Speed [MJS] $ 20.00
Female Junior Speed [FJS] $ 20.00
Male Youth A Speed [MYAS] $ 20.00
Female Youth A Speed [FYAS] $ 20.00
Male Youth B Speed [MYBS] $ 20.00
Female Youth B Speed [FYBS] $ 20.00
Male Youth C Speed [MYCS] $ 20.00
Female Youth C Speed [FYCS] $ 20.00
Male Youth D Speed [MYDS] $ 20.00
Female Youth D Speed [FYDS] $ 20.00
Paraclimbing [P] $ 20.00

Help spread the word

Please help us and let your friends, colleagues and followers know about our page: 2020 National Speed Championship Mt Maunganui

You can also share the below link in an email or on your website.