Lead and Para-climbing Championships wrap up and link to Video Highlights

We successfully ran our 2020 2021 National :Lead and Para-climbing Championships on the 13th and 14th of March. Thanks to our event sponsors RAB and The North Face, the organisation from the Rotorua Climbing Club and our host gym The Wall and Basement Cinema. Thanks to all those who supported the running of the event, especially our officials Sabrina, Shane and Dion, a great team of belayers, judges, timekeepers, isolation monitors and other supporters. Thanks to our route setting team of Peter, Andy, Angela, Lossie, Api and Paul, and forerunners Luke and Jacob. Great photos from Eddie Fowke of The Read More

2021 Development Squad – Final Selections

It is my pleasure to finalise the development squad selections for 2021. Congratulations to all those athletes selected. Selected athletes will be communicated with separately to advise on further plans for 2021. Please reference to the attached document for the full list of athletes. Richard WaldinPresidentClimbing New Zealand

Notification of Development Squad Selections for 2021

Following the recent Speed Championships in Mount Maunganui and Lead and Para-climbing Championships in Rotorua, we are pleased to offer athletes places in the Climbing New Zealand Open Development Squad and Climbing New Zealand Youth Development Squad. We have compiled the attached file which lists all development squad selections for the year. This includes the Youth and Open development squad selections from the earlier Bouldering Competitions. Reminder of the criteria for Speed selection:Speed qualification criteria – Top 5 placing in each category, plus a time less than or equal to (time in seconds):Open Male 10.000 Open Female 13.000Junior Male 11.000 Read More

Updated Timetable for Lead and Para-climbing Championships 13th and 14th March 2021

Please check back to this post, periodically as we may need to adjust the timings over the course of the week-end. Registrations and results will be posted to PIKI. https://piki.vimaly.com/#CNZ/event/8GjObq8m4UAOfY0FT/show Saturday  Youth D, Youth C, Para-climbing, Opens   Time Description Categories 07:30 Facility Open   07:30 Warm up Area Opens YD, YC 08:00 Technical meeting   08:15 Athletes Briefing YD, YC 08:30 Qualification Round 1 YD, YC 09:50 Qualification Round 2 YD, YC 10:15 Warm up Area Opens Opens, Para 10:45 Athletes Briefing Opens, Para 11:00 Qualification Round 1 Opens, Para 12:45 Qualification Round 2 Opens, Para 13:45 Isolation opens Read More

Updated Timetable for Speed Championships – Friday 12th of March 2021

9.00am Technical meeting – Team Managers and Officials 9.00am Youth C and D Warm up 9.20am Athletes Briefing – YC/YD 9.30am Youth C and D Practice 10.00am Youth C and D Qualification 10.30am Youth C and D Final 11.30am Youth C and D Prize giving Route reset for remaining categories 11:00am Youth B/A/Junior Warmup 11.50pm Athletes Briefing – Youth B/A/Junior 12.00pm Youth B/A/Junior Practice 1.00pm YB/YA/Junior Qualification 2.00pm YB/YA/Junior Final 2.00pm Opens/Masters Warm-up 2.50pm Athletes Briefing – Opens/Masters 3.00pm Opens/Masters Practice 3.30pm Opens/Masters Qualifications 4.00pm Opens Finals 5.00pm Prize Giving

Open Bouldering Championships – thanks, results and links to SkyNext video content

We successfully ran our 2020 2021 National Open Bouldering Championships on the 13th of February. Thanks to our event sponsors RAB and The North Face, funding support from Grassroots Central Trust and live stream partner Sky Sport Next. Thanks to all those who supported the running of the event, our host gym Northern Rocks, the Auckland Sporting Climbing Club and our volunteer organisers and judges. Thanks to our route setting team of Tyler, Wiz, James and Christina, our announcer Rob and live stream commentators Zane and Rimma. Photos care of Eddie Fowke and The Circuit Climbing. Congratulations to our championships Read More

Bouldering Selections into the New Zealand development squad

Following last week-end’s National Open Bouldering Championships the following athletes have been selected in the New Zealand Development Squad for bouldering for 2021.Open Female:Amanda Speed, Isabella Shanks, Abby Gebert and Sarah Tetzlaff Open Male:Tom Waldin, George Sanders, Henry Booker and Oskar Wolff As part of the Climbing New Zealand Development Squad you can be considered for further selection onto a New Zealand Team for 2021. Climbing New Zealand selection processes are documented in our selection policy, please refer to this in the first instance if you have questions. The document is on our web page. Any athletes wishing to appeal the selection Read More

Timetable and Live Streaming links for Open Bouldering Saturday 13th

Two live streams one for the qualifiers and the other for the finals. Qualifiers: https://youtu.be/qIepGQ0KKa0 Finals: https://youtu.be/BT2B6rAwvtw Timetable Please Note: This timetable is accurate according to the number of registrations received. Changes will be updated here and at the venue. Saturday 13th February – CNZ Open Boulder Champs  Qualifying 7:30 am – Facility opens for warm up 7:30 am – Isolation Opens Female and Male 7.45 am –Technical Meeting  (Judges/Officials/Team Managers) 8:30 am – Isolation Closes Female and Male 8.50 am – Athlete Briefing (held in Isolation Zone)  9:10 am – Qualifying Begins Female and Male 11.10 am – Qualifying Ends Female and Read More

2021 National Speed Championships and qualification criteria

Climbing New Zealand has established a selection policy for the Speed discipline. This policy applies to the IFSC official climbing wall so policy is limited to Open, Junior, Youth A and Youth B categories. This qualification criteria applies to the 2021 Speed National Championships, scheduled for the 12th of March 2021. For the sake of clarity there is no speed qualification for Youth C and Youth D as they climb on the Pacific K route and this has no international relevance at this stage. Speed qualification criteria – Top 5 placing in each category, plus a time less than or Read More