2022 2023 La Sportiva National Speed Championships Mt Maunganui

 Registration is closed for this event
Climbing New Zealand Speed Climbing National Championship 2022 2023, February 4th 2023


This competition will be held at: Blake Park 40 Kawaka Street, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116 and hosted by Bay of Plenty Sport Climbing Association.

This competition is open to all climbers.

To be eligible to be selected into a Climbing New Zealand development squad or team, you need to be a member of a Club affiliated to Climbing New Zealand. See https://www.climbing.nz/regional-clubs/ for contact information for affiliated Clubs.

CNZ Age Categories for CNZ events in the 2022/2023 season:

Masters born during 1988 or earlier
Opens born during 2007 or earlier (and must be at least 15 on the date of the event)
Juniors born during 2004/2005
Youth A born during 2006/2007
Youth B born during 2008/2009
Youth C born during 2010/2011
Youth D born during 2012 (or later)

Anyone eligible to compete as a Youth A athlete or above is also eligible to compete in the Open events.


 Entry fee for this competition is $20 and there is no Early Bird entry fee  
Registrations close midnight 2nd February 2022.  Late registrations and those taken on competition day will incur an additional $20 late fee. Those not a member of an affiliated club, needs to pay an additional $10 to enter.

This competition is run according to International Federation of Sport Climbing rules https://www.ifsc-climbing.org/index.php/world-competition/rules and consists of one Qualifying round (2 timed runs) followed by a Final round with a quota based on the number of competitors posting a valid qualifying time.

The Final round will consist of a series of stages each consisting of a number of "elimination" races, the winner of a race in any stage proceeding forward to the next stage. The number of stages and races in each stage will be determined by the quota for the Final round. 

Timed practise runs (2 runs) will be held prior to qualification. Practise runs are optional.

Timetable (please note this timetable is subject to change depending on entry numbers and will be updated on the event page for this event):


9.00am Technical meeting – Team Managers and Officials

9.00am Youth C and D Warm up

9.20am Athletes Briefing – YC/YD

9.30am Youth C and D Practice

10.00am Youth C and D Qualification

10.30am Youth C and D Final

11.30am Youth C and D Prize giving


Route reset for remaining categories


11:00am Youth B/A/Junior Warmup

11.50pm Athletes Briefing – Youth B/A/Junior

12.00pm Youth B/A/Junior Practice

1.00pm YB/YA/Junior Qualification

2.00pm YB/YA/Junior Final

2.00pm Opens/Masters Warm-up

2.50pm Athletes Briefing – Opens/Masters

3.00pm Opens/Masters Practice

3.30pm Opens/Masters Qualifications

4.00pm Opens Finals

5.00pm Prize Giving


February 4th, 2023 from  7:30 AM to  7:30 PM
Blake Park
40 Kawaka St
Mt Maunganui
Tauranga, 3116
New Zealand
Event Fee(s)
Domestic License From
Auckland Sportclimbing Club NZ$0.00
Waikato Climbing Club NZ$0.00
Rotorua Climbing Club NZ$0.00
BOP Sport Climbing Club NZ$0.00
Taranaki Tuataras NZ$0.00
Dynomites Climbing Club NZ$0.00
The Flying Geckos NZ$0.00
Cliffhangers Climbing Club NZ$0.00
Fiordland Climbing Club NZ$0.00
No Club or International NZ$10.00
Event Fee(s)
Female Open Speed [FOS] NZ$20.00
Male Open Speed [MOS] NZ$20.00
Male Masters Speed [MMS] NZ$20.00
Female Masters Speed [FMS] NZ$20.00
Male Junior Speed [MJS] NZ$20.00
Female Junior Speed [FJS] NZ$20.00
Male Youth A Speed [MYAS] NZ$20.00
Female Youth A Speed [FYAS] NZ$20.00
Male Youth B Speed [MYBS] NZ$20.00
Female Youth B Speed [FYBS] NZ$20.00
Male Youth C Speed [MYCS] NZ$20.00
Female Youth C Speed [FYCS] NZ$20.00
Male Youth D Speed [MYDS] NZ$20.00
Female Youth D Speed [FYDS] NZ$20.00
Add Female Opens [FOS] NZ$10.00
Add Male Opens [MOS] NZ$10.00
Gender Category
Gender Category